Day 19: The Shot Heard Round the World

The stage was set. The anticipation was killing me. It was the final chance he had. Everyone was was waiting to explode with excitement. All it had to do was go in! Just once.

Over the course of this basketball season my son has improved so much. It was his second time playing in an organized league, and the first time when he was five didn’t go so well. Throughout this season the game finally slowed down for him. He understood his responsibilities, and knew how to play the game better. His defense had always been there. That was his strong point. He became one of the best on the team at his coverage on defense, and he learned how to help in defense as well. It went from let me chase this kid I’m covering, to guarding him, while still focusing on the ball. It was so exciting to see.

His offense however was coming along a little more slowly. His dribbling was there, and he started moving without the ball better. Everything started clicking, except that illusive first basket. He shot so many good shots that literally rimmed around and popped out. He just couldn’t get it to fall. He started driving to the hoop and doing everything we asked, but still no luck.

Him and I made goals before every game. One of his goals every week was to make that first basket. Well today was it. The last game of the season. He played so well and put up three great shots. All just missed. There was about two minutes left, and he got the ball. The crowd and all the coaches knew he hadn’t scored yet. They were just as nervous as my wife and I.

He gets the ball, I’m under the basket screaming to shoot. He dribbled twice, stops and pops. It was like a movie with the ball going in slow motion to the hoop. I just was thinking it looks good. It might have a chance. Next thing you know, SWISH!!!! It goes in. I almost hit my head on the backboard jumping so high. The coaches were jumping. The crowd was on their feet cheering. All the while he slowly trotted back to the other side of the court. When I looked at him, his smile told it all. He finally got that damn basket in!! He was elated! He finally reached that goal he worked so hard on.

One proud dad moment.

7 comments

  1. amandapalubiak · March 19, 2022

    Love the proud dad moment!! Awesome

    Like

  2. beckymusician · March 19, 2022

    It’s a happy parent moment when your child works hard and finally excels!

    Like

  3. terisblog302496239 · March 19, 2022

    That is the greatest feeling. I’ll never forget when my daughter got her first basket. She turned toward us with the biggest smile on her face. It’s so fun!

    Like

  4. Trina · March 19, 2022

    This is an awesome post! I love your excitement for him making the basket…and his goal!

    Like

  5. CKing · March 20, 2022

    Makes it all worth it! Love those moments.

    Like

  6. kbigen · March 20, 2022

    Good title! Great moment!

    Like

  7. EugeniaKouts · March 22, 2022

    What I love more than you being so excited and so proud, is him being so proud of himself and the confidence that just grew in him. I can’t wait to hear about all the shots he makes next season!

    Like

Leave a comment