Movie Night

This was one of those weeks that I feel like we were busy every single night. There was not one night that I didn’t have something going on. Some of it was out of my control, other parts we chose to do, but it was still super busy. Normally I don’t mind busy. It makes things go faster, and keeps my entertained. Every once in a while, I need a break. I need to just sit at home and recharge. Tonight is one of those nights.

Right after school I have my physical therapy appointment. Another thing to do. Following that, I have to go right home and pick up my son to go get our hair cut before we go on vacation next week. Another thing to do. Finally, when all of that is over, it is going to be time to get home and assume the position. We are going to order out tonight for dinner. We will put our sectional couch together into a big square so we can all lay close together on the couch. We will get under the covers, turn off the lights, and enjoy a movie together. Seven minutes after my daughter tells us she is too full to finish the dinner we just bought her, she will ask for popcorn and tell us she isn’t full anymore. I don’t even care. Have at it.

These nights I crave sometimes. Although the weather is not ideal overall today, it is definitely ideal for a night light this. I am so excited to be done with all my running around so I can get into comfy clothes and watch a movie, snuggled up with the family. Perfect kind of night.

7 comments

  1. Sara T. · March 18, 2022

    “Seven minutes after my daughter tells us she is too full to finish the dinner we just bought her, she will ask for popcorn and tell us she isn’t full anymore.” This made me laugh! Sounds awfully familiar to what I hear in my household.
    And usually, I could care less, either.

    Like

  2. eddiehren · March 18, 2022

    Perfect. Yes. And there are people for whom this sounds less than that and at this point in my parenting life I can barely remember thinking any other way. I’m happy you get to have this tonight. Well deserved. Someday they won’t want to do this, let alone fit on a big sectional square together. But it seems like you know what the good stuff is. Outstanding – enjoy.

    Like

  3. Lori Brunke · March 18, 2022

    This sounds like a perfect night. I am down for the same. Mine is a bit different but similar…ordered pizza and watching some basketball games comfy on the couch.. plans to go nowhere.. Enjoy your fun, peaceful family night!

    Like

  4. Trina · March 18, 2022

    It sounds like a perfect night to me!!
    I’m not sure why you don’t do that more often.

    Like

  5. Suzanne · March 19, 2022

    Friday nights are made for movie nights! I’m with you. Great slice!

    Like

  6. amandapalubiak · March 19, 2022

    This sounds amazing! Very jealous

    Like

  7. EugeniaKouts · March 19, 2022

    Staying home, under the blanket, surrounded by those you love (and live with) sounds like perfection!

    Like

Leave a comment