Tough night

Tonight was a tough night.  We finally made the decision to put my dog down.  He was such a great dog for nine plus years.  He was suffering though.  My wife and I met at the animal hospital right after work and were able to say our last goodbyes to our boy.  He was so sweet, and everything went so fast.  It was so sad to see him go, and I will miss him like crazy, but I know that this was the best thing for him.

Luckily our kids helped us get through the night.  We picked them up right after, ordered pizza and had a movie night.  My son was sad his dog was gone, but he was super excited for a cuddle up movie night.  I love the comic relief that they provide.  We needed it tonight.  I also love that they seem to know when something is wrong.  We didn’t act sad around them, but yet they were still a little extra cuddly and sweet tonight.  It was the perfect way to end a tough night.  I am really looking forward to this week off with them to help get our minds off of our sweet boy.

Of course then my daughter gets a hold of my wife’s phone, and somehow resets the whole thing.  She may have lost everything….and now we’re back to reality.

IMG_0426.JPG

8 comments

  1. zasadilj · March 24, 2018

    Thinking of all of you! I am glad you were able to have some family time and comic relief from your cute kiddos. Gosh, I hope Suz can recover her phone!

    Like

  2. laffertylrc · March 24, 2018

    Definitely a tough one. Sorry to hear about such a difficult day. Love that you balanced it with the positive moments from your kids.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. berries781 · March 24, 2018

    I’m so sorry. It’s so hard. I’m glad the evening after provided a distraction and some family togetherness.

    But I’m just so sorry. I never realized how hard it would be to lose a pet until I did. (lost my first pet 2 years ago)

    I wish you lots of comfort this week off with your family and in the weeks to follow.

    Like

  4. eddiehren · March 24, 2018

    sorry man. one of a million things kids are excellent for – insulating you at least a little bit from outside pain. you can always look at them, especially in a setting like you just described so well, and can’t help but take a little solace in them. just their very existence does the trick. again, sorry you guys had to do it but it was of course the right thing.

    Like

  5. Samantha Marquardt · March 24, 2018

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Our pets are such a huge part of our families that we definitely feel the void when they are gone. Again, I am so sorry.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. terisblog302496239 · March 24, 2018

    I’m sorry to hear this sad news Mark. Kids are aware of so many things, I’m glad you got a few extra snuggles. Thinking of you during this tough time and good luck with your wife’s phone.

    Like

  7. Dana Murphy · March 25, 2018

    Oh, I love his cute face. I know that was a hard decision and a very hard thing to do. I’m sorry and I hope you guys just soak up your kids and all the fun memories with your pup.

    Like

  8. A Girl in Pursuit... · March 26, 2018

    Mark, I’m so sorry. I know how much you loved your doggie- he was so adorable and I think our love of our dogs may have been one of the first things we bonded over. I’m so happy that the kids helped make things a little easier for you both. Sending you guys hugs.

    Like

Leave a comment