The art of….tiling

Boo!  This is how I get to spend my spring break.  The positive about it is that the tile we have desperately needs to be changed!  It is the nasty stuff they put in when they built the house.  The tile is literally fading into a pee yellow that I can’t stand.  I get so embarrassed having anyone see it.  Now is the time to finally do something about it.

I would not consider myself a true handy man, like my father is, but I am not useless either.  Growing up I was usually the sidekick to my dad when we do projects.  He rebuilt every room in our old house, and I helped.  Now that I am the dad, I have to learn how to do more of this stuff on my own.  Of course my dad will be there to help, and my father in law also, but I will be manning this project.  That is a lie, I will be the sidekick again, but this time I will be really watching and learning so I can do this stuff on my own.  I know the big parts of tiling, it is the small details that I never account for.  That is where experience comes in to play.

My job in tiling was always the cutter, and my dad would lay the tile.  This time my father in law called the cutting since he used to do this as a side job.  That is good for me because it allows me to help out on other parts of it that I need to learn.  Although this project is not exactly what I wanted to be doing over break, the final result will be 100% worth it…I hope!  Just the thought of getting that urine yellow tile out of my bathroom and laundry room excites me.  I think it will be fun to get my hands a little dirty and learn from this project as well.  If it goes well, I will post pictures when it is done.  I just hope that is not in July!

5 comments

  1. noora108hazou · March 23, 2018

    You have been talking about this project for a while! So glad you are motivated to get it done over spring break. I love the color choice words you used to describe the tile…urine…LOL. I felt like a 5th grade boy laughing about pee. Can’t wait to see pictures!

    Also, how nice you got to help your dad. My dad used to tell me…”You want to help? Don’t help.” I laugh about this today as he’s just a cranky old man and always was.

    Like

  2. jehansen13 · March 23, 2018

    This is one of the next projects on my house! Thanks for sharing your upcoming project…hope it goes well!

    Like

  3. The K · March 23, 2018

    I am excited for you because I need to do this in my own bathroom! I had someone lay tile in my hallway a while back but was waiting on doing the bathroom for when I just redo the whole thing. I wish I could do it myself! I wish I had people to show me how to do it! Take advantage of them, for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cassie King · March 23, 2018

    That’s awesome. I always love learning how to do things like that from my dad. Can’t wait to see it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. berries781 · March 23, 2018

    Lmao, the pee and urine yellow are the stand outs for me in this slice! I’m having so much fun imagining how beautiful it is in my head.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment