Memories…from Facebook

There are a lot of things that annoy me about social media.  With that being said, of course I am addicted to it.  It is terrible, and I hate it, but I can’t get away from it.  It is like watching Vanderpump Rules with my wife.  I absolutely cannot stand those shows, yet I will get sucked into it and then start commenting about each of the idiots that are on that show.  I literally find myself checking my social media accounts five minutes after I just checked them last.  It isn’t because I really think there will be something new on there, it is just habit.  I have been breaking away from those habits lately and making myself refrain from checking them every two seconds.  We made a rule in my house that we can’t have phones at dinner.  That is such a nice, peaceful time where social media has to wait!

There is one thing however that I do love about Facebook, and that is the memories.  With all of the pictures and posts I have put up over the years, it is so great to see some of them pop up that I completely forgot about.  I just watched one the other day of my daughter, who was not even one at the time, belly laughing at her brother being silly,  I must have watched it fifty times.  Then they want to see it, so I watch it another twenty times.  I get to see memories of things that I have gotten to do with my family.  Whether it be vacations, days to the zoo, parties, or just being silly around the house.  These are the memories that I love to see, and again sometimes forget about.  It also reminds me of great nights out with friends.  Going to concerts, bars, vacations, weddings, or just hanging out at someone’s house playing bags. It reminds me of stupid things that I posted because I thought they were funny, and those give me a laugh again.  It makes me think how dumb I used to sound when I would post random thooughts about the sports I was watching, like anyone else cared what I was saying.

Today had a memory of my last vacation with my wife before we had our first little one four years ago.  Our “babymoon.”  She was seven months pregnant and we went to San Antonio for  a long weekend.  She was a trooper with the amount of walking we did that weekend, and the fact that she couldn’t drink.  We had a blast, and even got to go see a couple of the NCAA tourney games.  That was on my bucket list.  These are memories that I don’t always think about anymore until they just pop up on my Facebook memories.  These are memories that make me smile and take me back.  These are memories that make me sad to see how quick my kids are growing up, but also make me happy to remember how cute they were.  These are memories that I get to talk about and reminisce about with my friends, remembering those fun nights out together.  So as much as I get annoyed with the repetitiveness of Facebook, I truly do enjoy when that notification pops up telling me that I have memories.  It is a great way to start each day!

10 comments

  1. kathyschuitema · March 21, 2018

    What a great post, showing the tension between enjoying technology and being frustrated with the temptation to check in all the time. I enjoyed reading about your memories as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. eddiehren · March 21, 2018

    i’m exactly the same. my facebook is basically a photo album. i mean, i check all the usual stuff like you said too, but my favorite is looking back at memories and “on this day”. i check that part everyday. young people see social media so much differently. i think that changes with kids. good post.

    Like

  3. noora108hazou · March 21, 2018

    Completely Agree!!! There is this unexplained addiction. You know nothing there is new, yet we need our brains and eyes to move every 5 minutes so that we can swipe. Is that how our students feel everyday? Are their brains like ours?

    How awesome that FB can give us memories of amazing times we share with others. Sounds like you had such wonderful memories with your wife and kids. Today, mine was of Palm Sunday two years ago. The kids were so little and sweet….all dressed up.

    Like

  4. terisblog302496239 · March 22, 2018

    I was just talking about this the other day. I love the memories. I had a memory pop up the other day…March 15…I think it was 6 years ago. My daughter was outside in shorts and a t-shirt and the ice cream man was out because it was so warm. Oh how I wish we had that weather today!

    Like

    • mcteaguem · March 22, 2018

      I like your memory!! Let’s do that again!!

      Like

    • zasadilj · March 22, 2018

      Yes, my friend’s son was born 6 years ago and I remember it was SO warm! I also remember snow on the ground a few days after we brought Cara home 4 years ago. You never know what you are going to get in March!

      Like

  5. dailydoseofdennisblog · March 22, 2018

    Pretty much the only reason I use facebook is for the photo memories! I absolutely adore the album I’ve created of Madelyn. We are also trying to be more aware of when we are picking up our phones instead of making it a habit.

    Like

  6. Cassie King · March 22, 2018

    I love seeing those memories. One of the best parts of facebook.

    Like

  7. zasadilj · March 22, 2018

    Yes, FB memories can bring a wave of emotions. Some pictures bring me smiles. Some are hard and make me take deep breath as I wasn’t expecting to see them. But most are good!

    Like

  8. berries781 · March 22, 2018

    I love the memories! I agree that I am caught between loving seeing how cute the kids were when they were sooooo little and being sad at being reminded of how quickly they are growing.

    Good slice!

    Like

Leave a comment