Simple Things

Tonight was the night that I needed.  Sometimes it is the simple things in life that you need to wash away all of the anxiety that can fill us up.  Tonight was the night that I was able to do that.  It started at 2:55 when my students went home for spring break.  I know as teachers we are not supposed to say this, but I needed a break from my students as much as they needed a break from me.  That break is called Spring break.  It is that week during the year that everyone needs.  Christmas break is great, but to me, spring break is better.  The students are fried by this point, and teachers are too.

After I got home, I got to spend a little time with my wife and my son.  That is the part that I enjoy the most.  After we had dinner together, it was time for me to go play volleyball.  I am only a fill in for a team right now, so I never know when I am going to get the call.  Tonight was one of those nights that I needed to play. I needed to do something tonight that got me away from everything else.  I played so poorly last time I played that I had to make up for that tonight.  Tonight I did make up for that.  I played really well and it felt great.  I had a blast playing with my friends, and it was one of those things that just get you back on track.

After we played, my buddy and I hit up a local watering hole to finish off the night.  We had a couple of beers and played some Golden Tee. Again, this was something that I just needed. It was a perfect way to start my break.  My buddy and I are very competitive together, and that is something that I need every once in a while. We compete on everything we do.  We are always complimentary of each other, but at the same time, love winning.  We played three times, and I won three times. It was just what I needed tonight.  I really don’t care if I won, I just wanted to do something that I love to do.  Something that makes me feel like I am in my 20s again.  This is all we used to do.

It is the small things in life that we need sometimes to make us feel good.  I love my job, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t need a break from it.  I love hanging out with my family more than anything, but again, it doesn’t mean that I don’t sometimes need a break from that.  Tonight was what I needed.  It was a few hours that I could just do what I wanted.  The rest of spring break will be filled with so much running around, so I am really happy that one of the nights I got to just hang out and relax.  It was perfect.  It was just what I needed!  It was simple, yet so important.

6 comments

  1. beckymusician · March 25, 2016

    That sounds like a great way to start your spring break – a rousing game and time to hang-out with a friend. I look forward to hearing about the rest of your break.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dana Murphy · March 25, 2016

    I think you captured something really well here – the idea that a break can be almost anything, but it’s the break in your routine that matters. Like you said, it’s no reflection on the things you need a break from (job, family), it’s just a little refuel so you can get back to it.

    I feel the same way and sometimes this makes me feel really old. Like, I get so excited just to go out to dinner with my friends every two months. Times sure have changed, haven’t they?

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 26, 2016

      They sure have Dana! My philosophy is you are only as old as you act, so as you know I am like 12. Sometimes you just need that time with just your friends to bring back what our life used to be like. I wouldn’t change anything that I have now for any reason, but it’s nice just to have that “me” time here and there. Have a great break and I hope you find some me time too.

      Like

  3. danahuff · March 26, 2016

    We all need a break from work. My own spring break is just about to end. I needed it so badly this year. I was lazy, I read, I recharged. I loved it. Enjoy your break, and take your “me time”!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 26, 2016

      Sounds like you had a perfect break. There is nothing better than using it to just relax, and it sounds like you did just that. I hope you enjoy the last couple of days and the rest of your school year.

      Like

  4. aruddteacher100 · March 26, 2016

    A change of pace is good because it does give you the break. I agree on the needed spring break this year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment