Day 6: The Art of Doing Nothing

There is only one bad part about game nights…the next day. Although last night wasn’t too crazy, it is the staying up late that kills me the next day. Last night we had a really fun night with my two sisters, their husbands, and their kids. We played a ton of games, ordered food, and had one or ten drinks. We even taught the high schoolers how to play some of the games, minus the alcohol of course. It was a well needed night, and turned out perfect.

When I am in the moment, I never really feel tired. I am typically the last one up, and will very rarely be the one to say we should call it a night. Unfortunately this typically takes a toll on me the next day. I woke up this morning and felt pretty decent, just really tired. We stayed at my sisters, so we decided to order breakfast and pick it up to eat at home. After we ate, it was time to make an imprint on the couch, and that is exactly what we did. We watched a crazy new show most of the day, while mixing in a quick nap. The kids mixed between IPADs, Nintendo Switch, playing in the basement and watching a movie in our room. They are so good about leaving us alone when we are being lazy, and for that I consider myself very lucky.

We had so much we could’ve gotten done today, but I am 100% okay with us doing absolutely nothing. Sometimes you just need a day like that to refresh. I did actually get up and grill some steak tacos, but that is all I can take credit for today. I definitely think I have perfected the art of doing nothing on days like this. Back to the grind tomorrow. And shoveling…ugh.

7 comments

  1. Antoinette Mrozik · March 7, 2022

    I am a master at the art of doing nothing… everyone needs a day like that every once and a while!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 7, 2022

      For sure! Hope you had a nice, relaxing Sunday too.

      Like

  2. Michelle · March 7, 2022

    It was a perfect day to do absolutely nothing!! Sounds kind of perfect!

    Like

  3. amandapalubiak · March 7, 2022

    I can relate to this so much! Staying up late and enjoying the night and not wanting to call the quits, THATS ME! I definitely feel it the next day when I want to sit on the couch all day and relax. Hope it was a relaxing day.

    Like

  4. Alice · March 7, 2022

    I hear you. I like how you decide to “leave an imprint on the couch.” A day of recovery is always necessary when playing hard.

    Like

  5. EugeniaKouts · March 7, 2022

    Sounds like a perfect weekend! My only problem is that I have many days of wanting to do nothing and following through with those plans! Summer is right around the corner . . . it will get done then! MAYBE!

    Like

  6. CKing · March 8, 2022

    That is an art. One that I am horrible at.

    Like

Leave a comment