Day 4: Jeans and Plans

The best two gifts you can give to a teacher do not come in the form of material things. Instead, two things that I get that make my day are being able to wear jeans, and planning time. Today we got both. We had our county wide institute day, and on these days with no students, we get to wear jeans (and we get out at 1:15 which is a huge bonus). There is something about being able to wear jeans that is so comforting. It just makes the day better. I wear jeans all the time, but for some reason, getting to wear them to school just hits different. They just feel different wearing them when you are at school. It is such a simple thing, but at least to our school, it makes a world of difference.

The second gift we can get is planning time. Time to sit with our partner(s) and really plan out a unit. My partner and I sit down and plan every Thursday which is super helpful, but it is only 50 minutes of time. We talk daily about what we are doing and make adjustments, but rarely do we get to sit down and really plan a unit from beginning to end. Today during our institute, we were afforded a majority of the time to do just that. We spent hours planning a new unit from beginning to end. We found every resource we will need. We created a calendar so we can continue to use these plans year after year. It was so nice just to be able to have the time to get this done. No interruptions, no having to go get the kids in five minutes, just time for us to get whatever we needed done. And we did just that.

These things seem so simple to most other people. Other professions may laugh at us because these are normal to them, especially to those that work from home. But for us educators, these are the “gifts” that are the best to us. Today was one of the most productive days I have had in a while, and I got to do it while sitting comfortable in my jeans.

17 comments

  1. BudaMusicJJH · March 4, 2022

    I agree COMPLETELY! I am glad you got some time today to make things happen in the comfort of your favorite denim.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 5, 2022

      Thanks! Hope your day was productive…and comfortable.

      Like

  2. Natalie Dunne · March 4, 2022

    Totally agree. There was always something magical about jeans days, even though some of my dress pants were more comfy than some of my jeans!
    And I always especially loved the county institute too because a. 1:15!! And b. I got the whole day to attend workshops about my actual subject matter!

    Happy Friday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sara T. · March 4, 2022

    No better gift than time to plan!
    I wish all teacher inservice days were like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sarah Schulte · March 4, 2022

    The best day! I trade jeans for leggings though! Much more comfortable. 🙂 Loved having a chance to do some purposeful planning without looking at the clock!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Trina · March 4, 2022

    This was a great gift and I agree with Sara. If every inservice day could be this productive, our burn out and feelings of being completely overwhelmed might be less!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 5, 2022

      We killed it today partner. All while still having fun!

      Like

  6. jodimahoney · March 4, 2022

    I love the way you framed this. These are absolutely gifts and such important ones. A good reminder that it’s the little things that can make the most impact.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. amandapalubiak · March 5, 2022

    I agree! These two gifts are so precious and held near and dear to my heart! I hope that the plan time was great and eliminated any stress for the upcoming week! Relaxing time

    Liked by 1 person

  8. writingandlaughing · March 5, 2022

    Oh my goodness – A day where the planned planning time actually happens and doesn’t get eaten up by meetings?! PRICELESS. I’m so glad you received these gifts today.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. terisblog302496239 · March 5, 2022

    You expressed this perfectly. Days like today have a lasting effect. Knowing that we were going to be given the gift of jeans and time today, I actually started feeling more relaxed as soon as school ended yesterday. And, that feeling lasted all throughout today.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Noora108 · March 5, 2022

    I felt the same today! I definitely enjoyed all I got done and my jeans!

    Like

  11. EugeniaKouts · March 5, 2022

    I was not as productive as you were, but I love that we were given the time. Enjoy your weekend and your planned week. As for me, I will be as surprised as the students with Monday’s lessons 🤣

    Like

  12. kbigen · March 5, 2022

    Amen

    Like

Leave a comment