March Madness

Excitement is back in the air. Throughout this pandemic, the one thing that really helped me get through it was football. I was really into this year. The Bears suck, but at least it gave me something to do. I had three fantasy football leagues that I was in, plus I would do weekly Draft Kings pools as well. It kept me busy and kept my mind on something that I enjoyed. When football ended, there was nothing else for a while to get excited by. I have lost my love for the NBA over the last few years. The Bulls have been garbage, although finally showing some promise now, but it wasn’t even that. I HATE how the NBA is just turning to a few stacked teams, while every other team has no shot. It is annoying and not fun to watch anymore.

Finally I have something to be excited about….March Madness. I have to admit that I haven’t watched hardly any college basketball this year. I am a Duke fan, and they were out of it early, and I have just had too much else to do. Therefore, going into filling out the brackets this year, I am clueless. The best thing about it though is that I don’t care. I love to do it anyway. I run a pool for my friends and my colleagues so that keeps me busy. I also have two other set of squares that I get to check out for the next few weeks. Now let’s just hope I can win a few of them.

Starting in a couple of hours, I get to just sit and watch game after game. Obviously I want my teams and my numbers to hit, but it is so much more than that. I love watching these games where these kids go out there and give it everything they have. The biggest bummer of the whole thing is that won’t get to play in front of a sold out arena. That will definitely take a little away from it, but either way, you still have the buzzer beaters and the upsets. My friends love gathering together the first round of the tourney and watching the games. I really look forward to that starting today. Go Illini!!

4 comments

  1. Stacey Shubitz · March 19, 2021

    My husband and I have done brackets (in competition with each other) for about 15 years. Somehow, we didn’t do it this year. Slipped our mind. I suppose we still could… if he doesn’t know who won any of the first-round games. (I’m completely oblivious this year.)

    ENJOY watching basketball!

    Like

  2. EugeniaKouts · March 20, 2021

    I hope you are enjoying your day/night! I am so happy Loyola won, but I’m not happy about Sunday’s game with the two Illinois teams up against each other!

    Like

  3. Sara T. · March 20, 2021

    I wish you would have done squares! Those are my favorite during March Madness. There’s always next year!

    Like

    • mcteaguem · March 20, 2021

      You’ve been talking about that every single year. Maybe next year

      Like

Leave a comment