Silver Lining

There isn’t much to celebrate about these days.  Even when things seem so grim, there is always a silver lining.  To me, that is that I get to spend these valuable days with my two kiddos.  I know yesterday I said that it was overwhelming, but then today brought me back.  The one thing that I really found so fulfilling today was doing my son’s schoolwork with him.  This was the first day his school sent out their eLearning work.  Today I got to sit down with him and really watch him work.  It was awesome.

There are so many days that I come home, go through his folders, and see what he had done at school that day.  I ask him about his work, and I usually get a quick answer about it.  I press further to see what else he did that day.  I typically get a story about what he did in recess.  I love all of that, but I want to know what he is doing academically.  This morning, I got to see all of that first hand.  Being that he is in Kindergarten, it is so fun watching what he can do.  We practiced some reading, math, and writing today.  We even watched some BrainPop videos for science.  We did all the assigned work for him, but he wanted more.  He finds it so fun to do this work.  I find it so fun watching him, and really getting a front row seat to his learning.  It is crazy how quickly they learn, and how much of a passion he has for school.

Him and I are coming up with a plan to keep working on all of this.  I want to mix it up for him so it continues to be fun.  I am trying to keep all subjects fun and fresh, yet challenging for him.  I did some research on some age appropriate science experiments that him and his sister can do.  Looking at their faces when they get to do these will be so amazing to watch.  Even though being stuck at home sucks, it also has real advantages.  It lets me really see my kids, watch them grow, and watch them learn.  There is always a silver lining.

4 comments

  1. Trina · March 18, 2020

    That is awesome Mark. I am sure he love the time with you!

    Like

  2. Lisa G · March 18, 2020

    Glad you found the silver lining! This whole new reality is quite grim, but at least we have our children.

    Like

  3. Sara T. · March 19, 2020

    I am enjoying my teaching time with M too. I feel bad that I don’t get to do it more often. You know they will love doing science experiments with you too! Pass along the good ones please!

    Like

  4. Melody Keasler · March 19, 2020

    I wrote about some of the same feelings yesterday. Different considering the ages of my guys, but definitely seeing spending the time with them as one positive.

    Like

Leave a comment