Morning Decisions

It is funny how you fall into a morning routine that makes each day kind of feel like Groundhog Day.  There are little differences here and there, like this week being brutally dark when I wake up.  There are some days that I have to totally go off of my routine, typically when my wife is out of town.  But lucky for me, she typically takes care of the kids in the morning.  This allows me to hit snooze about four times, play on my phone for ten minutes before convincing myself to get out of bed around 6:45.  I head to the bathroom, brush my teeth, shower, and get dressed.  I say good bye to my wife, sneak in my kid’s rooms to get them to start waking up and getting dressed, then head down stairs to let the dog out.  I throw together a lunch, fill up my Yeti, grab a Red Bull, and by 7:20, I am out the door.  I have it down to perfection.

Then comes the drive.  Then come the harder decisions.  Is it a music morning, or an ESPN morning?  When Mike and Mike were on ESPN it was a no-brainer.  It was always tuned to ESPN 1000.  Now that they are gone, the morning sports show is hit or miss.  I still love listening to my sports, but there are some mornings that I just need some tunes in my life.  On most mornings I will listen to ESPN until I’m about half way to work, then once there is a commercial I will flip on the music.

I love music in the morning.  It helps me wake up and gets me going for the day.  Some mornings are easy going, some need a little rap, others need a rock n roll.  There are about three total country songs that ever make it to my radio.  It is funny how the mood of your morning determines what music you need to get you going for the day.  Today was one of those days where I needed a little mixture.  I listened to ESPN for a little longer today so I didn’t have too much time for music.  When I flipped it on however, I started with a little CCR, and ended the drive with Eminem’s new songs.  Both got me going perfectly.

I wonder what tomorrow will bring.  Mumford?  Post?  Zeppelin? Drake?  Guess we will see.  What is your preference in the morning?  Music or radio?

14 comments

  1. kvanhorn1966 · March 11, 2020

    I love music! But in the morning I do prefer a particular FM morning show. I’ve been listening to it for over 15 years! On the way home, I usually listen to country music on Sirius. Sometimes audiobooks. Music is almost always on at home, though! Too quiet without it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 11, 2020

      I haven’t gotten into audio books, but I am not opposed. I also am interested in checking out podcasts.

      Like

  2. Angela Faulhaber · March 11, 2020

    I love how you’re making me think about all the small choices I make in the morning. I’m a podcast listener, so I always am excited when my favorite podcasts have a new episode. Today I loved the Good One podcast with Jesse David Fox.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 11, 2020

      I definitely need to get into podcasts. I hear so many people talk about them, and I have never tried it out.

      Like

  3. Natalie Dunne · March 11, 2020

    I like a mixture of both. When I was still working, I enjoyed listening to Eric and Kathy every morning. Now I’m in the car so sporadically in the morning, I don’t always catch the show. So music it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Trina · March 11, 2020

    I love how with 2 kids and a dog, your biggest decision in the morning is what to listen to.
    You are a lucky man!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. mcteaguem · March 11, 2020

    I married up, what can I say? She works from home so it’s a little easier. I make up for it after work.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. terisblog302496239 · March 11, 2020

    Oh my, I wrote about how my husband did most of the work in the mornings and you said your wife does…weird…We’re both pretty lucky. By the way, I choose talk radio!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. CKing · March 11, 2020

    Interesting… maybe you could shake it up and try cutting out that Red Bull… Just a thought. You should NEVER be late…

    Like

  8. mcteaguem · March 11, 2020

    Probably not, but I haven’t been late all year!!

    Like

  9. Shelly021 · March 11, 2020

    I like Straight from the Hart (Kevin Hart radio), but when they start talking sports – music it is. I definitely think that the tone of the day is going to be good if I hear “that” song or if the Mc Donald’s line has only one car in line!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. mcteaguem · March 11, 2020

    Just make sure you order for two. And learn your sports!!

    Like

  11. EugeniaKouts · March 11, 2020

    Sometimes silence is golden, but that’s usually the ride home! In the morning I switch stations . . at 7:10 am I listen to B96 for Wake-Up Wars; then I flip to 103.5 to listen to “Waiting by the Phone” segment (people that get “ghosted” have the radio call and ask why they don’t want to go out again, and the responses are often hilarious), and then I am usually at school by then.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 11, 2020

      That is hysterical!! Never would have pegged you for the teeny bopper stations! Don’t know how you do silence. I would go crazy!!

      Like

Leave a comment