I Can Wipe my own Butt!

Having kids is the best because you never know what is going to come out of their mouths.  My three and a half, going on sixteen year old, comes up with stuff that makes my wife and I just shake our heads.  The purpose of this blog was to talk about how quickly my little girl is growing up.  We had a break through over the last couple of weeks with her staying dry in her diaper at night.  She never wears a diaper during the day, but still struggled at night here and there.  Finally she went dry for nine days straight.  It was time to try underwear again.  She has a brand new bed with brand new sheets, so we feared the worst.  This morning our little jubilant daughter comes in our room with her success story.  “I stayed dry!!”  A little tear almost fell from my eye.  Not necessarily because she was dry, but because we are out of the diaper stage!!!!

When I was in the car on the way to her dance class, I was thinking about what to write tonight.  I thought about her no longer needing diapers,  and how quickly she was growing up before my eyes.  I decided I was going to write about her.  When I told her that I was going to write about her and how she was growing up, a big smile sprung onto her face.  “You can tell them that I can wipe my own butt!” I sure can sweetheart, and you better believe I will.  This was another little accomplishment she has figured out in the last week.  One that I hadn’t planned to share, but she insisted, so you’re welcome.

As I was watching her at dance later, I just sat and stared at her.  She caught me looking at her in the window and gave me the biggest, cutest smile ever!  I melted.  As much as the threes can be challenging, I am not ready for my baby girl to grow up.  I love the anticipation of what she is going to say next.  I love the innocent smile, and the sweet looks she gives.  I love that on the way home, she was telling me about who she wanted to invite to her birthday party, and asked if she invites Jack from her class if I was going to punch him in the face.  (I joke with her that if she dates a mean guy I will punch him in the face).  I love later at our house she was coloring, and she just stopped and looked at me and said “I love you Dad.”

 

Never grow up kid.Finny

13 comments

  1. Donnetta Norris · March 3, 2020

    My son is 13 now, and long gone are the cute little things he used to do when he was this age. But, every now and again he will walk up to me, hug me, and rub my belly like he used to when he was a toddler. I still melt. Your daughter sounds adorable.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Trina · March 3, 2020

    This is the sweetest!! You will love every stage, but I get not wanting her to grow up too fast. I look at my kids and wonder where my babies went.
    Enjoy it all….including dance class!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heidi · March 3, 2020

    Excuse me while I wipe a tear… Adam (and as a result, I) had a trying afternoon turned evening. Post dinner he returned to his normal, bubbly self. Trying isn’t strong enough to describe 2s and 3s, but man alive, are these ages fleeting.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. carolannclark · March 3, 2020

    Love the humor in this post!! Little girls are awesome!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. EugeniaKouts · March 3, 2020

    Enjoy them young! Because when they get to be teenagers and I say and what have you done all day and they laugh and respond with, “hey I wiped my own a**” – it isn’t so funny and cute! LOL But every stage/age has it’s good and bad, so enjoy this one, but know the next one isn’t so bad. Thankfully, John drove me to Walgreens Care when I couldn’t drive myself. So one day, you can send them to buy your beer, snacks, etc. All positives!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 3, 2020

      Oh I definitely look forward to some of that. I will cherish the little moments now, and just hope they don’t go by too quickly. I am glad however that wiping their own ass continues to be an accomplishment!:)

      Liked by 1 person

  6. litcoach09 · March 3, 2020

    Your post made me laugh out loud and then I was crying by the end. Isn’t that just how parenting is? My daughter-now 8th grade-promised her grandpa she would never grow up when she was about 3. About a month ago, he jokingly chastised her for getting too tall and breaking her promise (as he often does) and she looked at him with such sadness and said, “I tried, Papa. It just happened.” And I think she really meant it.
    Enjoy every butt-wiping comment, write them all down and when she is 13, keep repeating them and make it a family joke. It keeps the youthfulness alive, the bond strong, and allows you to remember all those amazing moments WITH the little person that helped create them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 3, 2020

      That is super sweet! That is one thing about these blogs that I love, we will have some of these memories to look back on forever.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. danceinthekitchen · March 3, 2020

    What a hilarious story!! And in all seriousness, what an incredible accomplishment, one that she is clearly so proud to own.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. terisblog302496239 · March 3, 2020

    Oh my…she is the cutest! Enjoy every moment because as I’m sure you’ve heard, time goes by too quickly. But, the good news is….she will say things that make you smile even as she continues to grow. They sure are cute when they’re little though!

    Like

  9. Sara T. · March 3, 2020

    I’m so glad you’re savoring this stage. Some days are really hard and others are filled with the funniest things you will hold over their heads when they are grown. Cheers to being out of diapers!

    Like

  10. Shelly021 · March 4, 2020

    Oh my, she is just the sweetest! They are so little and it can be challenging, but it is an awesome time with their ages! Enjoy Mark!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. irishdaybreak · March 5, 2020

    love this! The last line is a heart melter Very endearing

    Like

Leave a comment