Kindergarten Preview

What?  My son cannot seriously be almost five years old.  He cannot possible be going to Kindergarten next year.  I love that he is growing up and all, but I am not sure I am ready for all of this.  I have been noticing different things about him just in our conversations lately.  I was talking to my wife about the fact that he is talking so grown up lately.  In terms of sports and other things, I want my son to grow up asap.  In terms of life, I want him to take his time and slowly grow up.  You always hear people say “it goes so fast!”  I never really took into consideration that they really meant it.  I figured it was just one of those things that people say.  Unfortunately, I am the one saying it now.  My two are growing up so fast I can’t keep up.  (Luckily for me I am not aging at all as they are.:)

A couple days ago we had Kindergarten preview at my son’s upcoming school.  I wasn’t sure what to expect out of him during this.  He has a tendency to be very shy when it comes to these kinds of things.  I never really get to see him in school, so I have no idea how he really does in there.  When we first walked in, the shyness came out.  They asked him to pick out the name tag with his name on it, and he froze and stared at them.  He knows how to spell his name with ease, but he was too shy to do it.  I thought we were in for the same behavior throughout the day.  I always get a little to “parenty” when it comes to these situations.  I want him to do everything perfectly, but have to remember that he is only four.

When we got in the class, I thought when they separated him from us that he would have a tough time with that.  I completely underestimated him.  He went right to the table he was supposed to find, sat down, and listened to the directions from the teacher.  She had them draw a picture of himself to start it off. Again he picked up the pencil and went right to work, looking back at us here and there to show us his masterpiece.  From there they went down to the carpet to listen to a story.  He sat there perfectly, listening to every word from Pete the Cat.  When the teacher asked questions, he went back into his shell.  He is not big on putting himself out there in front of a lot of people.  He gave one half raised hand, but that was it.  I was secretly hoping he would take a risk and answer a question, but no such luck.  I am cool with that though.  He did his job.  He sat and listened so well.  As he gets to know these kids more I am sure he will open up a little more.

The last thing they had to do was go into another room while the principal talked to us.  A year ago he would’ve not been too happy about having to leave without us.  This time, he walked right out and didn’t look back.  It really made me realize how much he has grown up in just a years time.  I am so proud of the progress he has made not being scared of doing things on his own. It showed me when I saw him at this Kindergarten preview that he’s got this.  Whether or I like it or not, he is growing up.  He is becoming a more independent little man, and I just have to enjoy the ride with him.  My little boy will be in Kindergarten next year, and I can’t wait to see him shine!

11 comments

  1. romeolitcoach · March 5, 2019

    They really do grow up fast. You really capture this memory in your words. Consider keeping it and sharing with him at graduation…it will be here in the blink of an eye.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lori Seidelman · March 5, 2019

      He’ll do great and you will love to see how much he learns and grows! And I agree with you- our kids are aging fast and luckily we aren’t!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. zasadilj · March 5, 2019

    Wow, that’s awesome he did so well at preview day! I really am in shock that they our kiddos are old enough to go to kindergarten! I agree, time does need to slow down a bit!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dani Burtsfield · March 5, 2019

    As a kindergarten teacher, your tag lined grabbed me! I was fascinated by this whole kindergarten preview experience that your district made available to you and your son. It seems a little early to me, but the overall idea is outstanding! I’m interested to know what the principal shared with the parents?

    Hold on for the ride – you think it’s going fast right now? I’m watching my 4th and final daughter graduate from high school in 3 months, and I can remember walking her to her first day of kindergarten like it was last week. Seriously.

    Enjoy every minute!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 5, 2019

      The principal put together a packet of all the “need to know” things for us registering our kids. He did about a fifteen minute talk just letting us know what we need to do in order to get them registered. He talked about busing and some after school options we have available. The teachers and aides took some notes on the kids as they did some of the activities. It was a cool experience being able to meet the teachers and find out a little bit about the whole process. They still do half day there so they let us know the options we have if we need care before or after school.

      Like

  4. Lori Seidelman · March 5, 2019

    Lori Seidelman · Just now
    He’ll do great and you will love to see how much he learns and grows! And I agree with you- our kids are aging fast and luckily we aren’t

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lisa G · March 5, 2019

    “It showed me when I saw him at this Kindergarten preview that he’s got this. Whether or I like it or not, he is growing up.” It is these bittersweet moments that we will never forget with our little ones!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. terisblog302496239 · March 5, 2019

    My son was very similar when getting ready for kindergarten. He participated, but was very shy and did not say a word. Next month we will be having a college preview day. Enjoy this time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 5, 2019

      Teri that is what I am afraid of! I can’t imagine the feeling of really letting them go like you are. That may be a little more difficult than Kindergarten!:)

      Like

  7. Shelly · March 5, 2019

    He is going to do amazingly and he will come out of his shell in time, he has you for his dad!! lol It goes by quickly, hold on to everymoment!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. eugeniakouts · March 7, 2019

    So amazing that this is the first step in letting you and Suz know “Don’t worry about me, I got this!” So excited for you in your journey of the kids getting older. Definitely bittersweet, but think of the relationship you have with your dad. It definitely was not the same when you were 4. Still awesome, just in a different way! Enjoy them in every stage and age!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment