Having fun

Over the course of the last couple weeks, I have received two pretty awesome compliments from two different people.  Based on some of my posts, Facebook and Instagram, those two people complimented me on how much fun my family and I seem to have.  I love this because this is how I have always lived my life.  I feel like having fun is so important, yet sometimes lost in thing called life.  I hear excuses from so many people about how they are too busy, or how they have kids now, so they don’t have time anymore.  I totally understand that making time is no where as easy as it used to be.  What I don’t get is how people don’t make the time to go out and enjoy themselves.

I love getting out with friends as much as possible.  Whether it is going to someone’s house and playing some games, or having a night in with my wife and playing games with just the two of us.  That is just how I am wired.  I need that interaction.  We meet up with friends to play Euchre, Sequence, or Kings Crowns.  I meet up with the boys to have a beer and play Golden Tee at a bar.  I play volleyball or golf, or any other sport that I can still play without hurting myself.  We have parties where we play a horse racing game or beer pong or flippy cup.  Whatever it is, I will make the time to play around and act like we are still in our twenties.  I love it!

Hanging out with my friends is so amazing, and I am up for it almost any weekend.  Hanging out with my family however is the most fun that I can have!  Having two kids now is nonstop entertainment…when they are in a good mood of course.  I love nothing more than playing games with my kids.  Watching them dance to songs that we crank up. Even if that means listening to the Trolls soundtrack 7,000 times.  Now that my son is into sports, we get outside whenever we can and hit the ball or throw the ball around.  We run the bases, score a goal, or go swimming at the lake.  We ride bikes or scooters to the park and play around.  I whoop them in a game of Memory, Sorry, or Trouble.  I know I am supposed to let them win, and I do…sometimes.  Best of all, I love just watching them play.  I love their imaginations and how they can turn a grape into a super hero.  To me, that is fun!

I challenge anyone who reads this to make time for YOU to have fun.  What is the point of this life if we aren’t having fun.  Work will always be there.  So will dishes, laundry, and mowing the lawn.  What won’t always be here is our youth, and especially our kids youth.  Now is the time for all of us to take a step back from all the non-fun things, and go have some fun!  I do, and I love my life.  I enjoy every weekend.  I love my time with my friends.  I love my time with my kids and my wife.  I love having fun!

Time to go and have a couple of beers with my volleyball team before we play at 9:30 tonight.  Man that is late…but it will be fun!!

11 comments

  1. Michelle · March 2, 2018

    Point well taken! Don’t break anythng, you still have to be at work tomorrow!

    Like

  2. S. Tomasevich · March 2, 2018

    I will be the first to admit it. I have McTeague-Family-Envy. Your family is NEVER not doing something amazing at a lakehouse, baseball game, or family member’s house. You are so fortunate to have such FUN family members who enjoy doing the same things you do. You seem to know how fortunate you are to have them, too!

    Like

  3. berries781 · March 2, 2018

    So fun! Your family sounds a lot like my best friend’s family. They are always doing something. Busy every weekend with extended family or one of their hundreds of friends. And they love it. And it sounds like you love it too.

    We are very much like that too but we just don’t do it every weekend. We also have friends we play euchre with with every couple months. I plan girls weekends at least every 4 or 5 months. My husband has guys weekends about the same. We do game nights with 2 groups of friends and all of their kids. We love throwing parties at our house, no kids. We love throwing parties at our house with kids! We love playing games just the 2 of us after the kids go to bed. And we love games with the kids. Especially now that they are 4 and 7 and can play some real games. And we LOVE family room dance parties 🙂

    So yes, fun! Fun is great! That’s great that you have so much of it!

    Like

  4. eddiehren · March 2, 2018

    i agree with you and think the main point here is that you are aware of and present for all these things. never lose sight of it and yours will be a life well lived for sure. really cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. thelifeofamomteacherandwife · March 2, 2018

    I love this! Life is too short to not enjoy it and have fun! I agree with you that playing a game of flippy cup and beer pong is meant to be enjoyed with our friends still. That is why I love our new neighborhood and friends that we have to enjoy this with. Enjoy the short day and weekend and have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 2, 2018

      May have to meet up in your neighborhood when I am at my sisters!

      Like

  6. Dana Murphy · March 2, 2018

    I feel like this piece of writing was directed at me. 😦

    You’re right, you know. You are totally right. This is the way we all should live – you’re doing it right. I’m going to remember these words next time I say, “I can’t.” I swear.

    Like

  7. mcteaguem · March 2, 2018

    So are you going to come out today? Here’s your chance.

    Like

  8. Melody · March 2, 2018

    For real though, you are the reason people on social media feel bad about themselves. You do have fun! Anyone scrolling through their feed can see that. The playing games and being silly with you kids just makes me excited for when my guy can do all of those things too. Love him tiny, but that interaction, like you said, will just be priceless!

    Like

  9. zasadilj · March 3, 2018

    I love that your family finds time for FUN! You are always going somewhere, doing something, even it is a card night with your family. It is rare that I hear you say you have nothing going on. 9:30 is way past my leaving the house time for a school night! Did you start your day with a Redbull?

    Like

Leave a comment