World Baseball Classic

Baseball has always been my favorite sport. It was the sport that I was best at as a kid. It is my favorite sport to attend live, especially in historic Wrigley Field. I have even enjoyed a game at the other field. Mostly because they always lose when I am there. I would watch every Cubs game on TV if I had the time. Others think baseball is slow and boring, I find it fascinating and exciting. My family and I love going to our local Single A team, the Kane County Cougars. There is just nothing better on a beautiful night than being at a ball park.

The one thing I hate about baseball now are the contracts. It drives me insane how much these players are getting for playing a game. I am all for them getting paid, and even getting paid big bucks, but half a billion dollars? Come on. Unless you are saving lives, you don’t deserve that. The game is getting out of hand, and I fear that if it keeps going this way, the only thing I will ever be able to afford is going to the Single A teams.

These past couple of weeks I have really gotten into the World Baseball classic for many different reasons. First, because my love of the game. I love the competition between these great baseball countries. They are so passionate about playing, but not for the normal reasons. These guys are not getting paid. They are doing it for the love of the game and the love of their country. They celebrate every victory like they just won the whole thing. They support each other, laugh, and compete with everything they got to bring this championship home. Guys who are usually teammates in the MLB are now competitors. They embrace the challenge of facing their friends.

This World Baseball Classic is all about baseball. There is no greed, no money, no contracts. It is the pride of winning for the country they love. I couldn’t love that more. USA has a solid team, and they are playing Japan in the championship tonight. Two great teams battling it out. It is 3-1 in favor of Japan in the 8th inning. The US will need to put something together quick for them to pull this one out. Let’s see if they can pull it off. Win or lose…baseball is back!

3 comments

  1. Trina · March 22, 2023

    I just heard a little bit about the world baseball league. Now I know more 😉

    Like

  2. EugeniaKouts · March 22, 2023

    Andrew was watching it on our drive and I would ask for updates. I LOVED watching my boys play baseball!

    Like

  3. Lisa G · March 22, 2023

    I can hear the excitement in your slice! YAY for baseball! (Boo for contracts!) Play Ball! Go Cubs!

    Like

Leave a comment