A Lazy Little Saturday

For the first time since the fall, we have absolutely nothing to do today. It is the nicest feeling when you get to wake up late, and have nothing to rush to. There are no sports, birthday parties, or any other obligations to get to. The kids were up late last night so they got to have a slow start and relax. When we finally got out of bed, my wife ran and got the family smoothies and Dunkin Donuts. Great start to the day.

For my son’s birthday, we want to get him an in-ground basketball hoop for the house. The hoop we have out there now is small, rickety thing that keeps falling over. It is time to get a real one. My brother-in-law had a 20% off coupon for Dicks today, so I ran over there and looked for a new hoop. They are way more expensive than I was thinking, but luckily the one I wanted was on sale for $900 off, plus I had the 20% off, so I got it for a steal. It is going to be a month or so until it will be installed, but I cannot wait to see the look in his eyes when he gets home from school and there is a brand new hoop ready for him to play on. He will be out there for hours every day! It will be worth every penny.

Now it is time to run to a neighbor’s house that we have never hung out with and watch March Madness. It is my son’s good friend, so he is really excited. We talk to the parents because of the boys, but have never really hung out before. We are excited to go get to know them, watch some basketball, and have a couple drinks. Nice end to a lazy Saturday.

4 comments

  1. amyilene · March 18, 2023

    Lazy Saturdays were definitely taken for granted by younger, childfree me…now they are treasured, as this one was for you!

    Like

  2. Antoinette Mrozik · March 18, 2023

    I’m such a big fan of the no-plans Saturday!

    Like

  3. Trina · March 18, 2023

    Great birthday present and great price! Enjoy the rest of your day!

    Like

  4. EugeniaKouts · March 19, 2023

    He will LOVE it! The best thing Pete did was get one years ago for the boys. Used it everyday all day from March-November.

    Like

Leave a comment