Case of the Mondays

Sometimes on Mondays I look around the room after I ask a question and just look at blank stares.

Bueller?

Bueller?

It is like an abyss of confusion. Or just a bunch of students who are not ready to be at school yet. This is usually my chatty crew. They love answering questions and having discussions. Today was not that day, well at least at first. Luckily they did start to get a little bit more involved as the day went on, but it was like pulling teeth to start. Then the head scratching really started. I had one of my students turn in two assignments. As they were doing their morning work, I started checking in their assignments. I noticed that this student spelled the last part of this name with an -er. I have always spelled it with an -or. I was so confused. I took a glance at the name tag, -or. I looked at him with a major expression of confusion on my face, and asked him if I had been spelling it wrong this whole time. Then he returned the facial expression that I had just given him. It is like I just asked him to explain the theory of relativity. Nope. Just simply asked him to spell his name. Next, a look of horror approached his face. He said “I think it is -er…wait let me write it down.” Unfortunately, that didn’t help either. He was stumped. He did end up coming up to me a half hour later and said, “Mr. McTeague, it is -or.” Glad that we got that cleared up.

Add in snow and ice coming down today and you have yourself a solid case of the Mondays.

15 comments

  1. rdicarne · March 16, 2021

    This made me chuckle. I felt like you were peeking into my classroom. Only with my 7th-graders, the Mondays can happen any day of the week. Hope there is no spelling crisis tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thelifeofamomteacherandwife · March 16, 2021

    Haha they couldn’t remember how to spell their name?! I had a student do this before and we were both so confused too! We had a case of the Mondays too. I am hoping that it was just the time change and the dreary snow.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mcteaguem · March 16, 2021

    Let’s hope so. I am hoping Tuesday goes a little smoother.

    Like

  4. kvanhorn1966 · March 16, 2021

    I can relate! Mine were near comatose until 9:45, when they returned from P.E. They were wide awake after that!

    Like

  5. Trina · March 16, 2021

    I can only guess who it was.
    Remote learners are not any better on Mondays! All of us will be exhausted when we are back to normal 5 days a week.

    Like

    • mcteaguem · March 16, 2021

      Lets just say you passed him on to me.

      Like

      • Michelle Strezo · March 16, 2021

        I’d love to know you it is too! This is too funny!!

        Like

  6. susand1123 · March 16, 2021

    Wow that is a new one. A kid who can’t spell their name. I think this year needs to end.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. mcteaguem · March 16, 2021

    You read my mind

    Like

  8. EugeniaKouts · March 16, 2021

    Hey I have had moments like that where I am looking at my name and thinking it looks off but what is it that’s wrong?? End of May is coming . . . slowly, but it’s coming!

    Like

  9. Sara T. · March 16, 2021

    Ummm. Really? Tell me the kid is ELL. 🤦🏼‍♀️

    Like

  10. Lori Brunke · March 17, 2021

    hahaha!! So I have to admit I HAD to know who it was so I checked your class list on our shared google list of classes! Cannot say I am surprised now that I know. but still in 4th grade?. Oh boy..!! Guess I dropped the ball back in kindergarten when we are supposed to master that!!

    Like

    • mcteaguem · March 17, 2021

      I figured he had you and Perez, not much of a surprise😂

      Like

Leave a comment