Corona Friday

I really don’t want to continue talking about the Corona virus, but there is nothing else to talk about.  Literally, nothing else.  I have no sports!  What am I supposed to do for the month of March?  Today really messed with my head though.  From the second I walked into school today, the theme was “precaution.”  We are sending home packets of work in case we are off for an extended period of time.  Then my librarian comes in to tell me that she was directed to let us know that the kids should check out five books before the end of the day.  Our normal limit is three.  I had to talk with my students about this, again as a precaution.  I had to have them take home all of their books, their binders, the packets, and even get their Friday Folders.

All of this got me thinking it was Friday all day long.  It has been driving me nuts.  As I was driving home, all I wanted to do was get a babysitter and go out for a bit.  Then my wife brought me back to earth reminding me it is only Thursday and I still have work tomorrow.  Boo!  I actually don’t really want to take any days off for this.  I am hoping we can get by without it.  I really don’t want to make up days this summer when I could be on a boat at my lake house.  However, with all of these precautionary measures, it makes me think we are off when we are really not.

Lets just get this damn virus gone so we can move on with our lives.  Maybe I will have a Corona tomorrow, on the real Friday.

11 comments

  1. mrssurridge · March 13, 2020

    Excellent remedy! Corona on a Friday! We actually already had a teacher workday scheduled so the kids aren’t coming tomorrow, but now the entire training will be about how to teach from home. –Just in case– (Which is more of a probability as each second ticks away. Ugh!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 13, 2020

      It is crazy! I feel like it is not an “if,” but a “when.”

      Like

  2. Lisa G · March 13, 2020

    You are so right, it does feel as though we are off, but in reality, we are not! Cheers to Friday with a corona!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 13, 2020

      It’s a tease, except I don’t really want to be off.

      Like

  3. Noël · March 13, 2020

    It is a crazy time we are going through. And I thought prepping for Y2K was nutty! Stay healthy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sara T. · March 13, 2020

    I think after the impending extended Spring Break we are all going to look forward to actually being back at work. I keep thinking about the social distancing down time with no flying, no hotels, no large gatherings, concerts, sports, etc… I’m gonna go check on flights to Tonga!

    Like

  5. Trina · March 13, 2020

    I completely agree. Jessie skipped gymnastics tonight so we could go grocery shopping because I was afraid if I waited until Saturday the shelves would be empty….ugh.
    I’m not one to panic and I’m still not panicking, but this is crazy.
    I’m already stir crazy just thinking about it.
    Jaxs response to your first sentence, “EXACTLY!!”

    Like

  6. mcteaguem · March 13, 2020

    It cracks me up that they read these with you. You should have them write one for you.

    Like

  7. Morgan · March 13, 2020

    I enjoyed the tension in your piece, the contrast between the feeling of being “off” when we’re not, and the anticipation of not being able to be “off” when we should be. I am grateful that your post turned from what was happening at school to how you are dealing with it all outside. So many facets to this ever-evolving story, just like real life!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Shelly021 · March 13, 2020

    I am not one for panicking, but it starts to get in your head after a while. Today totally felt like a friday of a short week – yet it is a five day week and was only Thursday – UGH!!! What will tomorrow bring!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 13, 2020

      Movies. Lots of movies. Possibly Friday the 13th??

      Like

Leave a comment