Full Moon + Spring Break

I know spring break is coming but come on!! From the second my students walked into the door today I knew what kind of day it was going to be.  They were all over the place, chasing each other around, yelling, etc.  Within the first ten minutes I told them they were already making me crabby.  I know spring break is in two days.  I get it.  I want to get out just as much as they do, maybe even more.  This full moon thing happening right before break is cruel.  I don’t know whether the whole theory about the full moon having an affect on kids is true or not, but I am telling you what, if it is not, it is always just convenient timing.

I have a large class and they are a noisy class.  Like I tell people who aren’t teachers, I feel like that is just how kids are today unfortunately.  But today was something different.  They were super loud, and had no intention of controlling their behavior today.  I got math in during the morning where there was some quiet.  Other than that, I basically just gave up.  How often can they hear the same thing?  They know the expectations.  They didn’t just learn them this year.  They just choose at certain points not to follow them.  Maybe I am just checking out too, but for some reason today they just got to me.

I am hoping we can survive one more day.  My plan is to keep them busy during the morning, and then the afternoon we have some easy things that we are doing.  I would like to end this week on a good note, but that will be up to them.  If they can get under control for a day, we will have a nice little Friday.  If not, it is going to be a long day!  I think I will go have a beer now.

4 comments

  1. CKing · March 21, 2019

    Good luck! I’ll check on you in the morning… One more day!

    Like

  2. terisblog302496239 · March 22, 2019

    Today was one of the longest days of the year! I’m hoping tomorrow will be a bit shorter. Good luck to us!

    Like

  3. Natalie Dunne · March 22, 2019

    Enjoy your beer! Sounds like you deserve it! I could feel your frustration as I read this. It sucks. I hate days like that.

    Only a little while longer to go!

    Like

  4. zasadilj · March 22, 2019

    Spring picture day, lunch in the classroom and indoor recess, are a recipe for a long day in my opinion. Hope they are all able to get outside and run tomorrow during recess.

    Like

Leave a comment