Zoo day

Today we got to go to the zoo.  It was a pretty nice day in comparison to what we have had lately, and what is to come.  We are also watching a friend’s little two year old while they are both out of town.  I was thinking about venturing to the zoo with three of them on my own if no one would be able to go with me.  My other option was to drop Haddee, our friend’s daughter, off at day care and take just my two.  I would have felt terrible about doing that though.  There was also no way I was taking these three on my own.  If I wanted to do that, I would’ve had three kids!  Luckily my wife at the last minute was able to join us.

My goal was to get there when it opened, and get out before the dense crowds came.  She had a call at 10:00 which is when the zoo opens. We decided I would take the kids in and see a few animals while she was on her short call.  Or what was supposed to be a short call.  She called me as we were thick in a crowd trying to all get in at the same time.  I had her wallet with her pass in it.  I was too far committed to turn back and give it to her, so we went in and hit a few spots before she was able to meet us.  Finally she was able to meet us and we were on our way.

We planned out our walk pretty successfully.  My goal was to try and get to the monkey house somewhat early because it fills up so fast.  On our way around we ran into a colleague, you may know her as “Please Don’t Hug Me.”  Then we ran into another friend in the monkey house.  She told us she got to the zoo right around 10:15 or so, and said they had to wait an hour and a half to even park.  We got there maybe a half hour before her and had to only wait about ten minutes.  It is crazy how fast it filled up.  Luckily with the size of the zoo, it never really feels that crowded.  One way or another, we were basically in and out of there within about two and a half hours.  The little ones like to see the animals, but their attention lasts about ten seconds per animal.  My son likes to watch them a little more now, but still we did a quick look and move on.

It was a really fun day and the kids were literally perfect.  Just like yesterday, they all came home and slept.  My wife went back to work and I watched TV for a little bit.  Now I think we may just go out to pizza and a well needed beer!

7 comments

  1. zasadilj · March 29, 2018

    I showed Cara your pictures from the zoo and she said. “Which zoo were they at?” “We should have gone mama.” But we stayed close to home again today, because she is still coughing. Today was better than the last few days so we may venture out tomorrow. Glad you had a nice zoo trip.

    Like

    • mcteaguem · March 29, 2018

      Yuck Julie!! I can’t believe she still has that cough!! What a bummer over break. Maybe Monday if she feels better we can meet out somewhere

      Like

  2. dailydoseofdennisblog · March 29, 2018

    You definitely deserve a beverage after 3 kiddos at the zoo no matter how good they were! Glad it was such a great day for you though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 29, 2018

      They were surprisingly good. I’ll do the beverage anyway, but it wasn’t because of them today.

      Like

  3. Cassie King · March 29, 2018

    It was the best day for the zoo! Glad we got to say hi and see your adorable kiddos! I had no idea parking was so bad. I am so glad I thought they opened at 9:30… 🙂

    Like

  4. mcteaguem · March 29, 2018

    It was good to see you too!! Good work on getting there early. Should’ve given your mom a hug

    Like

  5. berries781 · March 29, 2018

    What a great day for the zoo! And for them to behave so well for you… At the zoo is awesome! Usually there is some kind of melt down there!

    Like

Leave a comment