March Madness

My favorite time of year has arrived!  I love March Madness!  I don’t follow college basketball too closely throughout the year because honestly, it doesn’t really matter.  The only thing that matters are these next few weeks.  I love the action packed excitement that this brings.  I love the buzzer beaters, the top plays, and most of all the upsets!  I love that even people who aren’t fans of basketball can get into it for a couple of days and enjoy it.  It is non-stop excitement and that is what I am made for.

I am a little bitter about this year however.  My brother-in-law’s 40th was in December, and for years, him and some friends have gone to Vegas to watch and gamble on the tourney.  He has asked me forever to join him, and this year I was committed!  I was finally in, and I was so excited.  Then one day I was sitting at Sport Clips waiting to get my haircut, and decided I would check the dates one more time.  I couldn’t remember when PARCC was showing up this year and all that.  I go to my district website and my stomach dropped!  Fricking conferences!!  Who it their right mind schedules conferences on the first two days of March Madness? Not a sports fan, that’s who!  Whatever!  I don’t care!  I am still going.  I will rearrange my conferences and deal with it.  I then looked up the cost of flights.  Over $750 to fly to Vegas…..yeah my thoughts exactly. BS!  If it were one of the two things I had to overcome, I would be gone and in Vegas as we speak.  But having to rearrange all my conferences, and pay $750, sorry Matt, I am not going to make it again.

To make matters worse, even if I wasn’t going to Vegas, I usually am sick the first Friday of March Madness every year.  Weird how that works.  With conferences, I can’t even be sick!  Either way, even though we got screwed this year, I am still really excited for the tournament!  At least there is brackets and squares to keep me occupied.  We are even doing a bracket challenge at my school to keep it interesting.  All I have left to say is go Virginia or Michigan State!

Leave a comment