Kids movies…and the songs that come with them!

My son is currently obsessed with movies.  You would think that someone would get bored of a movie after they have seen it 300 times in the last week, but that is not the case with Benton.  He comes home most days and asks if we can watch a movie.  Sandlot is his favorite movie, which is awesome, but it doesn’t apply to this post.  Currently his animated favorites are Lion King (great choice!), Moana, Trolls, and we just introduced him to Little Mermaid.  What comes with these movies….songs!  There are so many songs that we now play on repeat throughout every car ride, dance party, or just a Saturday morning.

I am not going to say that I am not to blame for some of this madness, because I am usually the one who puts the songs on.  I can’t help it.  I actually like the songs.  It is becoming a problem though.  I literally wake up every morning singing one of these songs in my head.  I can’t get away from them!  It is like a curse that I can’t break.  The entire reason for this post is because I caught myself singing “You’re Welcome” from Moana.  Again a really catchy tune, and who knew The Rock could sing so well.  But I can’t get these songs out of my head!

It is super cute watching Benton really getting into these songs every time I put them on.  He is starting to learn the words pretty well, and is really good at making up words for the ones he doesn’t know.  My favorite it is “I Just Can’t Wait to Be King,” and every time he says “I’m working on my roar..”  he belts out a huge loud roar.  I now know every single word to what we call Sunshine in My Pocket (aka Can’t Stop the Feeling), by JT.  That is his all time favorite.  My little one year old Finley now squeals every time that song comes on as well.  She can’t do the singing quite yet, but she sure can bust a move!

Maybe it is just the kid at heart in me, but I can’t get away from these songs.  I may need to listen to some grown up music for a while and get away from these so I can get them out of my head!!  The thing is…I kinda like them too much!

6 comments

  1. carolmcbroom · March 9, 2018

    I can totally relate! I am a Broadway musical fan, and that’s the only music I know and listen to. 🙂 Here’s to the arts!

    Like

  2. Elizabeth Pruett · March 9, 2018

    Years from now when you hear the song from one of his favorite movies it will bring back a warm and beautiful memory.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. eddiehren · March 9, 2018

    Yeah man, i get it. Good thing is, the students have at least always gotten a kick out of it when they catch me absentmindedly singing a song from Frozen or a Nickelodeon theme song. It’s awesome of course how many Radiohead, Wilco, or Grateful Dead songs my kids know (amongst mamy others) because it goes both ways but for the most part, they win. Good stuff, good post.

    Like

  4. dailydoseofdennisblog · March 10, 2018

    My car ride sounds exactly the same! Our favorites are Beauty and The Beast, Moana, The Little Mermaid, Sing and Rapunzel. I secretly love it though and her and I act out the songs!

    Like

  5. zasadilj · March 10, 2018

    I can so relate to this post. Wait until your half way to work and still signing along to the kids music, then you realize the kids are not with you and you can make a change without anyone complaining. This is happened to me a few times and I just laugh.

    Like

  6. Cassie King · March 10, 2018

    Those songs are so catchy! Little kids’ dance moves are always the best. I just always hope that my kids continue to bust a move and sing their hearts out and to be so silly. Please don’t change!

    Like

Leave a comment