Dazed and Confused

Today was just one of those days that I was in a haze from the second I woke up.  I woke up on time.  I actually got out of bed at a reasonable time.  Yet somehow I still ended up rushing out of the door.  It was destined to be one of those days.

I had taken the day before off because my son was sick, so I think that is what got me thrown off.  As I was driving to work, I just couldn’t get my mind wrapped around what I had to do that day.  I got to work, and immediately had three different people come up to me and tell me about things that went wrong with my students the day before.  I hadn’t even gotten to my room yet! Can I just get five minutes to check how things went yesterday and get ready for today?  As the day progressed, I just couldn’t get my thoughts together.  My students were normal, and everything went okay, but I just never felt right about what I was doing.

Tonight I then had volleyball after work. As I was playing, again I just couldn’t get it together.  I played the worst I have played in a long time. Even now as I sit and try and write this, I have stopped about ten times and tried to get my thoughts together.  Wait, make that eleven times.  My plan is to try and relax a little tonight, go to bed a little early, and wake up hopefully more clear minded tomorrow.  Bring on Friday!

7 comments

  1. Dana Murphy · March 11, 2016

    This is me today. I can’t snap out of it.

    I hope sleep brings you clarity and you feel back to your old self. 🙂

    Like

  2. Dana Murphy · March 11, 2016

    Oh, and I’m happy you wrote anyway! We’re almost halfway through….

    Like

  3. beckymusician · March 11, 2016

    I’m thankful it’s Friday! Everything went fine for me today, too, but it’s been a very full week. I hope you get to relax and enjoy the nicer weather this weekend!

    Like

  4. neylonk · March 12, 2016

    Fridays have a tendency to find me incoherent, and not because of poetry! Sleep tight!

    Like

  5. Mandy Robek · March 12, 2016

    Some days we just can’t find our groove and we have to just say – there’s always tomorrow. Here’s to some rest and a new start.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Veronica · March 19, 2016

    Well, even though you stopped, the point is you kept writing. That’s the beauty of this SOL, I guess.

    By now, you’ve known I’ve kinda hung out at your place today, going through all your posts at once, and I have to tell you, it’s a lot like immersion into someone’s body of work. I guess that’s exactly what that is.

    So, I want to thank you for being honest and letting us have a peek into your life.

    Your life is different from mine. I know it probably seems common, but it’s unique and it has worth. I certainly value it. 🙂 This makes me think that maybe my normal, routine stuff might be interesting to someone, too. I can be a writer, like you, who tells stories..

    To hear you talk about volleyball at the end was really cool to see. You’re a regular guy and it was wonderful that you let us look into your world.

    Thank you!

    Like

    • mcteaguem · March 20, 2016

      Thank you Veronica to take the time to not only read through my blogs, but to take the time to write very kind responses to them. I will be sure to return the favor!

      Like

Leave a comment