The First Kick

Last night I got to feel something that is probably the coolest, most exciting feeling I have ever experienced.  I got to feel my second child’s first kick.  Well let me clarify and say that according to my wife, the soccer player inside of her has been kicking for a long time.  I however, have not been able to feel it, until last night.  There is the inevitable trial period where my wife tells me that she is kicking up a storm, but as soon as I put my hand on to feel it, she decides to play with me and not kick.  Last night I finally got to feel it!

This one tiny event makes everything seem so real.  It makes the birth seem that much closer, and it makes me so excited to finally get to that point. It is like that little child finally willing to say hello to me.  That one second, that little moment in time, or like we here like to call it, the little “slice of life” made me jump like a two year old.  I got the biggest smile on my face and then had to sit and wait for even more kicks. Of course that didn’t happen, but I will start small.  It brought back memories from this same event with my first child, and it was just as exciting as it was the first time.

As I reflect on this second of my life that brought so much joy to me, I realized that with all of the stress and chaos that surrounds us, you need to sometimes take a second and enjoy what life gives you.  This one moment made me forget about my students, bills, the non-stop virus that seems to be surrounding us, and every other stress that has entered my life.  It dissipated all of those things, and brought me a feeling of jubilation that will get me past all of that other stuff.  I can’t wait to meet this beautiful little girl!  She already means the world to me!

5 comments

  1. Lori Muir · March 9, 2016

    Congratulations! I am so pleased you have this memory written down and preserved. It always seems so interminable: the wait to meet a new youngster. Yet when they get here, we can’t imagine life without them. Yeah! I liked how the little soccer player image comes through.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dana Murphy · March 10, 2016

    I’m so glad you got to feel her! As a woman, I always felt bad that my husband missed out on so much of that movement. It’s surreal, isn’t it?

    Loved this line: It is like that little child finally willing to say hello to me.

    I feel like your last paragraph also captured why we “Slice.” Just to slow down for a moment and notice our lives. Otherwise, we get so caught up in everything, we forget to notice.

    Like

  3. Reese · March 10, 2016

    Look at you, being a softie!

    Can I just say how glad I am that you are just excited with the second child!? I’m the second kid in my family so it’s nice to hear that.

    So soccer for this little girlie?

    Like

  4. beckymusician · March 10, 2016

    Congratulations on the upcoming baby and on feeling her kick! It’s exciting to feel that – it’s a “wow, this is real” moment. And like you expressed, it reminds us of the really important things in life. Enjoy!

    Like

  5. neylonk · March 11, 2016

    Oh my! How beautiful this slice is! And you had better prepare yourself. The moment you meet her, you’ll be wrapped around her little finger. So very happy for your family, and you!

    Like

Leave a comment