This Thing Called Blogging

Coming into this assignment, I wasn’t sure what to think about this whole blogging thing.  I have always liked writing, but I didn’t think that I could figure out something to write for 31 straight days.  Turns out that I actually had fun doing this.  I enjoyed getting to write about so many different topics.  I liked the challenge of trying to come up with something creative to write each day.  I enjoyed being able to reflect on my day, and realize how great some days actually were.  There are some topics that I felt were a little forced, but most of them I felt were pretty genuine.  It was a good chance to get things off my chest, and reminisce about some great days that I have had.

Besides just doing the writing, I also loved reading other people’s blogs.  It is amazing to hear about so many people’s perspectives on daily life.  I read fun blogs, serious blogs, sad ones and happy ones, but very few that I didn’t enjoy.  I thought this would be a chance for people to just state their opinions on everything, but that didn’t happen.  I can go on Facebook and read that crap everyday.  This was simply about the lives people lead.  The craziness of life that we all go through on a daily basis.  The stories that they had to share were so interesting and entertaining.

The last thing that I really enjoyed about it was listening to everyone else’s comments on my blogs.  Everyone was so positive and friendly.  It is so cool to have complete strangers take the time to read what I wrote, then also sending me a thoughtful response back.  I had the chance for people who I work with getting to see a different side of me.  We get the chance to chit chat at school here and there, but never really get to know too much about the people we spend so much time with.  This was an opportunity for some of them to get to know a little more about me, and for me to get to know more about them.  I feel like that helps build even stronger relationships.

Overall this was a great experience!  There were nights that I dreaded having to go and write my blog, but as soon as I started, I got into it every time.  I don’t know how much I will blog once this is all over, but I don’t think my blogging days are over.  I don’t think it will be every day like it has been, but I will come back and visit every once in a while.  I also think that I will bring this into my classroom as well.  It would be interesting what types of things they would be writing about.  I hope that everyone enjoyed reading my blogs as much I enjoyed reading everyone else’s.  I hope to hear from you all soon!

3 comments

  1. ams4blog · March 31

    You are quite the blogger and I am glad we made it through this challenge!

    Like

  2. beckymusician · April 1

    I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog this month. I hope you’ll come back and do it again next year! And try blogging with your students — it’s amazing how it improves their writing and they love it.

    Like

    • mcteaguem · April 1

      Thank you Becky for all of your thoughtful responses and taking the time to read my blogs! I really appreciate it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

