The Last Easter Bunny

I love doing things with my son.  I love to get out and do things that I think he would enjoy.  I do not like doing things that everyone else is also doing however.  The other day I sent my wife a link I saw online about an Easter egg hunt at Cantigny Park in Wheaton.  It sounded like a great time. He got to go run around looking for hidden eggs, and had a chance to meet the Easter Bunny.  We figured we would just get there pretty early, and since it is such a huge place, it would be great to check out.  Also it was supposed to be a nice day, so why not get out and give it a try.

I couldn’t have been more wrong. The second I pulled in I knew this is something that I would regret.  There was a huge line of cars, and the parking lot already looked full.  Apparently we aren’t the only ones who think it is a good idea to get there early.  When we parked, we realized how far away everything was in terms of where we parked.  I walked around the back of my car, opened the trunk to grab his stroller, and lamented when I realized that I took it out a couple of days ago.  I reminded my wife to grab his Easter basket, oh wait, we left that at home too. We are currently 0-2. It could only get better from here right?

We make the nice long journey to the park, weaving in and out of people who were in absolutely no hurry.  We go and check out some of the tanks, which I think are awesome.  We have to dip and dodge the four hundred kids running around and climbing on these huge machines.  We decide it is time to go and Easter egg hunt.  It turned out that they were not going to make this very difficult for the kids.  Basically in a couple parts of the lawn they dumped a bunch of plastic eggs in piles.  This was fine for us because Benton is still so young, so it is easier for us to have him go and just grab some.  We grab our limit of five eggs, and realize they are empty.  The prizes are inside.  Awesome.

We mosey on over to the building to go get his prize and meet Mrs. Bunny. This is where we should’ve just turned and found our car. The line wrapped all around the interior of this large building.  There was no organization at all, and no one had any idea of where the line started or ended. Finally we figured out where to go so we reluctantly got into line. The line was creeping along, and we were getting cut left and right.  I now understand why my students get so annoyed.  We had a lady blatantly cut in front of us, then had the audacity to yell at another family that tried to do it to her.  My ankles were sore from the numerous strollers that crashed into them, and my arms were killing me from holding my little beast.  About an hour later it was our turn.  We sat Benton down, took two pictures and were done.  Then we walked over to the “prize” table and got his little, cheap toy.

I will never do this again…ever!  It just isn’t worth it.  He enjoyed it for about two seconds, and he will never remember it anyway.  I would much rather hide some eggs around here and just do it together at home.  I even told my wife on the way home that we should just buy a bunny and Santa costume and just have one of us dress up for pictures.  As we pulled out the lot, traffic trying to get into the place was dead stopped a half mile in both directions.  I wanted to just roll down my window and say “Turn around and go home!  It isn’t worth it.” I don’t want to be a total Debbie downer though, I understand the premise of it. I truly appreciate the work the people put in to give the area kids something to do.  They mean well, and if it wasn’t so crowded, it actually would’ve been pretty cool. However, I will find something else from now on to do to have a little Easter fun.

6 comments

  1. ams4blog · March 27, 2016

    This Slice made me laugh- I could just picture you wanting to abort the whole mission! I probably wouldn’t have lasted as long as you and Suzanne did! I was cracking up thinking about you actually rolling your window down and yelling “Turn around and go home. It’s not worth it!” Happy Easter!

    Like

  2. beckymusician · March 27, 2016

    This post brought back memories of similar experiences with my kids when they were little (they’re in their 20s now). You just end up exhausted, battered, and wish you’d never had that idea. I hope the rest of your holiday is more relaxing!

    Like

  3. svalter · March 28, 2016

    This piece totally made me chuckle. If I see one more crowd, plastic egg, or piece of candy right now, I may lose my mind. Easter with little ones is awesome, right? Happy Easter!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ericamcmo · March 28, 2016

    I love your use of sarcasm and humor. Writing about a kids’ event like this from a parents’ perspective is a great idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. berries781 · March 28, 2016

    Ugh yes, I am right there with you. I avoid stuff like this like the plague!! Luckily, there is a really low key Easter egg hunt in the park across the street from our house. And there is even a bunny that comes. So we go to that. But that wasn’t the case, we wouldn’t go to anything. I am just fine with the little egg hunt that happens in our house on Easter morning. Same goes for meeting Santa too. I waited in line to have my son meet him for his first 2 Christmases and now no more. And we have never taken my daughter. Not worth it to me. There is plenty of other magic in the holidays to be had!

    Hope you had some other fun moments in your Easter 🙂

    Like

  6. Peg D · March 30, 2016

    It usually only takes one time. You can definitely do something better at home. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

