All Good Things Must Come to an End

One thing that I love about being a teacher is that I get summers off.  Well actually in all of my 14 years of teaching, this will actually be the first summer I have off.  For the past thirteen years I have had a pretty amazing summer job.  I have worked special events for a Budweiser distributor. I have gotten to do some pretty amazing things at this job.  I ran into a guy yesterday at the Bulls game that I work with at that job.  It made me realize that I am actually not coming back.  I was a little bummed about that.  I have said every year for about the past ten years that I wasn’t coming back.  My coworkers just laughed at me and said see you next year.  Of course they did because I always came back. How couldn’t I?  This is finally the year where I am actually doing it. I am stepping away.

This job has given me so many memories.  I have worked every Lollapalooza, Taste of Chicago, Blues Fest, and many other cool events.  I have worked a ton of Bears games, concerts, races, and other small events.  I continue to say work, but most of the time I was really just having fun.  Don’t get me wrong, we worked a ton, but this job definitely had its perks.  I haven’t paid for beer in the summer in thirteen years. I have hung out in VIP for so many events. I have seen so many amazing concerts and other sporting events.  I have gotten so many friends and family into so many cool events.  Which in turn made me a pretty cool guy.  What other job can you drink at the whole time you work?  I got to be in our amazing city every day, enjoying the beautiful Chicago weather.

I was the beer guy.  I was the guy that everyone at an event looked forward to getting there.  I got to meet so many amazing people, both famous and just simply cool coworkers.  I have made lifelong relationships with so many people I otherwise would have never had the chance to meet.  I did more entertaining people watching than most people can do in a life time.  I got to see the behind the scenes views of so many amazing events.

I loved that job, but it is time to move on.  I have another baby coming in July, so I finally decided that it is time to step away from this job and let the youngsters take over.  My days of slinging kegs and working 18 hour days are over.  I am really going to miss this job, and the people that went along with it.  The best thing about it is I can still go to these events, and most likely not pay a dime.  I will cherish this opportunity that I was given for the last thirteen years.  I can confidently say though that when I am home this summer with my wife, and two little ones, I will appreciate that 1oo times more.  Cheers!

2 comments

  1. Dana Murphy · March 23, 2016

    You’re pretty sentimental. I wouldn’t have guessed that about you, but it comes across in your writing a lot. This Slice is no exception.

    Sounds like a great job. More than a job, actually. I love how you’re leaving it to the “youngsters.”

    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. beckymusician · March 23, 2016

    I think you are in a minority – the group of people who love their job this much. But it’s clear from your other posts that you love your family more than anything. I don’t hear regret in you not returning to this job, I just hear great memories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

