Bonding

Today I got a last minute call from my dad to join him for the Bulls game tonight. It was 4:15, and I still had to drive from Woodridge to Geneva to pick up my son, back to Aurora to drop him off and change, then to Glen Ellyn to pick up my dad.  Oh then sit in traffic to get to the Bulls game by 7:00.  Of course I will go!  To top it off, we got there by 6:40 and had time to sit down and have a beer before the game even started.

You would think that the best thing about this trip was that we had his companies seats, which happen to be the second row on the floor of the United Center. The wall for the glass at the Blackhawks game was our backrest, that’s how close we were.  Don’t get me wrong, that is as good as it gets seat wise.  They are amazing!  It is crazy to see these NBA players up close.  They are huge!  To watch the game from that close is an experience that you don’t get every day. I have been lucky enough to sit in these seats many times.  My most memorable was when Michael Jordan’s Bulls were playing the Houston Rockets that had Charles Barkley, Hakeem Olajuwon, Clyde Drexler, and others.  Those were my idols growing up.  I was fifteen feet away from them!

Now getting back to my original point, the game was awesome, but what even better to me was getting to spend it with my dad.  It is not as easy these days to find time to do that, so the times that I do are pretty special to me. He is my role model, and I love getting a call from him to hang out.  Typically when we get to see each other it is in an environment with seven crazy kids running around, so it gets difficult to really get that one on one time.  These are memories that I will hold on to, and hope to get more of!  The Bulls won and I got to hang out with my old man.  Perfect night!

3 comments

  1. beckymusician · March 22, 2016

    What an awesome treat! Both the game and the time with your dad — a rare convergence of unexpected events.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dana Murphy · March 22, 2016

    Those seats are amaze-balls. 🙂

    I love finding moments like this with my mom – it’s so hard with the crazy kids always running around. I’m glad you take the time to enjoy it and realize it is special.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ams4blog · March 23, 2016

    Gotta love spontaneous outtings!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

