Bad News Travels Fast

Today seems to be one of those days that bad news just keeps pouring on.  I got some bad news from my buddies wife.  A couple of weeks ago my friend Steve had another surgery due to his pancreatitis.  A few years ago when he first found out he had it he was in bad shape.  He had to have pretty major surgery and wasn’t doing very well.  Over the past couple of years, things seem to have been going in the right direction.  Every once in a while he would have a small flare up, but it wasn’t too big of a deal.  Doctors noticed some concerning things a couple of months ago so scheduled him for another surgery.  He had that two weeks ago and recovery seemed to be going just fine.

Last night he even asked us to come by for dinner.  We spent a couple of hours there and he seemed good to go.  He has a machine connected to him to help drain some fluids, and he is still pretty sore, but he was in great spirits and moving just fine.  No signs of anything going wrong.  I then get a text from his wife early this morning letting me know that he was in severe pain about two hours after we left.  They had to call an ambulance and rush him to the hospital.  I still don’t know exactly what went wrong, but I couldn’t feel worse for him and his family right now.  He has two kids, two and nine months, who don’t get to be with their dad for who knows how long.  I am really hoping that this is nothing major and he will be back home, recovering in no time.

Later today I get an email from my principal letting us know that after a six month battle with cancer, her brother in law passed away.  It sounds like she was there visiting when it happened and it was pretty traumatic.  Two things in one day, both really sad and depressing.  They say things come in threes, I am just hoping that I can get through the rest of this night without having an ugly third pop up.  I am knocking on wood as I speak.

These types of nights make you want to take a second and hug the ones you love.  I pray for my friend and my principal to help get them through these tough times.

5 comments

  1. Dana Murphy · March 21, 2016

    Mark, that’s terrible news about your friend. How scary! I will say a prayer for him and his family.

    We had some equally bad news from one of our neighbors this weekend. I was thinking the same as you – it always comes in threes.

    Like

  2. beckymusician · March 22, 2016

    I think one of the worst things about this kind of bad news is feeling helpless. You want to do something for the person or family, but it’s often hard to find something that would really help. Best wishes to your friends.

    Like

  3. Morgan · March 22, 2016

    Thinking of you and those you care for. This is a great way to capture these moments and pay tribute to life’s struggle.

    Like

  4. ams4blog · March 23, 2016

    I’m so sorry about your friend and sorry I didn’t read this until now. It’s probably a good thing since the Slice made me cry! (This doesn’t count as another time because you didn’tactualh see me cry!)

    Like

    • mcteaguem · March 23, 2016

      Ha ha! He seems to be doing pretty well considering so that is good news. Thanks for your thoughts and even your tears!

      Like

Leave a Reply

