Swim Lessons

Growing up, my family has always vacationed to places on the water.  I love being in the water.  I literally could hang out in the water on a nice summer day for hours and hours.  It is so relaxing to me to hang out with friends, have a couple of drinks, and play around in the water.  Now that I have an almost two year old, I want him to love being in the water as much as my family does.  We have a lakehouse in Indiana that we frequent in the summer months.  One perk of being a teacher with summers off.  One thing I want to make sure however is that he learns to swim, and is very comfortable in water.

Today was his first swim lesson.  We went to a place called Goldfish in St. Charles to start this new adventure.  My wife is pregnant so she asked if I wouldn’t mind doing the swim lessons with him.  You don’t have to ask me twice!  I got in and reached for him to join me.  As he took in the thousand kids being trained in this pool, he was a little timid.  He was hesitant to get in a first, grabbing my arm like someone was trying to steal him.  I finally got him in, got him halfway submerged, and his whole attitude changed.  He let out a little giggle, and I knew from there he was game.  We started off practicing kicking, then “reaching,” feeding the ducks, and learning how to get out. In no time, he pushed away his shyness and was having the time of his life.  His favorite thing was when she gave us a little thing to pour water on their heads.  He thought it was hilarious to pour water on his dad’s head.

I am not sure who had more fun today, but listening to him crack up and watching him swim made my day.  He listened to everything the coach said, and tried everything she asked him to try.  He loved his first swim lesson.  Needless to say I have a little fish!  He loves water, and I can’t wait to get him to the lake house this summer.  I want him to do these lessons to learn how to be safe in water, but I also wanted these lessons to make him love being in water even more.  That doesn’t seem to be a problem!  I can’t wait until next Saturday to do it again.

IMG_1572

9 comments

  1. beckymusician · March 20, 2016

    They really are like little duckings, loving the water! You will have a great time this summer!

    Like

  2. svalter · March 20, 2016

    This sounds like a fun time with your son! Enjoy the rest of your lessons together!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ams4blog · March 21, 2016

    So fun! I’m sure Benton is going to be water skiing in now time!

    Like

    • mcteaguem · March 21, 2016

      Definitely in “now” time

      Like

      • ams4blog · March 21, 2016

        You’re a real piece of work. I’m going to figure out how to delete my kind comment.

        Like

      • mcteaguem · March 21, 2016

        I just figured you meant he was going to do it real quick…like now!

        Like

  4. shrontk · March 21, 2016

    Good times with your son and bonus teaching/learning moment! It’ll be a nice ease of mind!

    Like

  5. Maria · March 21, 2016

    Not only are you getting him comfortable in water, you’re giving him the gift of a lifelong skill and LOADS of memories to go with it! 🙂 I hope the giggles never stop.

    Like

  6. Kelly Neylon · March 21, 2016

    You are teaching him a life skill! My kids were the same way, loved water from the first moment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

