TGIF

Friday to the rescue.  There are weeks that just need to end.  From everyone I have talked to and work with, this just happened to be one of those weeks.  We only had students for four days this week with the election day on Tuesday, yet it seemed like this week was fourteen days long.  It just wouldn’t end!

Being that it is the end of the quarter and spring break is coming up, time seems to crawl this time of year.  Today was Friday though.  Sometimes Fridays are just what you need to recharge and feel better.  Today was one of those days that I had to throw the normal plans out and just keep it simple.  My students have so busy, and have done so much testing, they just needed a day to catch up.  I had half of my class out for a “Battle of the Books” contest, so instead of trying to teach half of them, only to have to reteach the other half, we just caught up on work from the past week.  It was very nice to have time for them to just work on everything that I feel that we have had to rush through this week.

With each day that goes by, it seems that there are always these never ending problems that won’t go away.  You try and try to get through to some of these kids, but nothing seems to work.  I don’t know if it was because it was Friday and I was just fried, but today I took a different approach.  I tried to reach these kids on a different level and just let them know that we just need to get through this day.  I sat down with them and we just worked on what we needed to work on.  We tossed the stress out and just got done what needed to get done.  We caught up on work they needed to complete, and tossed some fun in there as well.  I had my students fill out NCAA brackets this year to do a fun, mindless competition.  They needed something different today.  Something that wasn’t math, or writing, or reading.  Something that they could just relax and enjoy.  I needed that too!  We ended our day scoring our brackets, and they really got into it.  I love Fridays for that reason.  Sometimes it is just time to put aside the rigorous work, and add in something that everyone can enjoy. We had a great day today.  It was laid back, fun, yet at the same time, we accomplished so much. It was one of those days that all of us really needed .

5 comments

  1. Rachel6325 · March 19, 2016

    I hear you; four more days and counting! Hopefully nobody had Michigan State going all the way like the boys in my life did.

    Like

  2. Veronica · March 19, 2016

    “…today I took a different approach. I tried to reach these kids on a different level and just let them know that we just need to get through this day. I sat down with them and we just worked on what we needed to work on.”

    This is something I’m going to take with me today, because I get caught up in the “big picture” a lot, too. I think it’s the curriculum. The non-negotiables. The growth expected in a year with us.

    I forget it takes baby steps!

    Thank you!

    Like

  3. Kelly Neylon · March 19, 2016

    It’s amazing how well you know your students! To be able to say, “let’s do this instead” really speaks to your ability to read them! Glad it is now the weekend!

    Like

  4. beckymusician · March 19, 2016

    Some days in teaching are like this! My Friday was the last day before spring break and for some of my students the end of the day couldn’t come soon enough. I decided we would watch a video – an educational one from Colonial Williamsburg, but still and entertaining break from the usual.

    Like

  5. Katy Collins · March 20, 2016

    It sounds like you did exactly what you AND the kiddos needed! Sometimes a break is the best thing. I did the same thing yesterday, the last day before SB. We did something low-key that I knew they would just enjoy. We all deserved it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

