Don’t Grow up

I can’t wait for my little man to grow up for so many reasons.  I can’t wait to play catch with him from more than two feet away, where he throws as hard as he can at my head.  I can’t wait until he becomes even more independent, and can do things on his own.  I can’t wait to take him to a ball game, and he will understand it.  I look forward to teaching him the finer things in life, like what a Chicago hot dog is, and how to throw a curve ball.  I want to get him up on skis, and watch his first t-ball game.  I want to help him with his homework, and congratulate him when he succeeds at something he worked really hard at.

I have one message for him though, don’t grow up.  Not yet!  As I am typing this he is upstairs getting ready for bed, saying “nigh night daddy.  Wuv you!”  Then giggling when I yell it back, followed by him yelling it back to me at the top of his lungs.  I want to run up there and play with him some more…although my wife would kill me.  Nights like tonight I will never forget.  He came home tonight in the best mood ever.  He is typically a very happy, very easy going little man.  Tonight though I wish I could put into a jar and bottle up.  He belly laughed all night long.  Anything we did, anything he did, he thought was the funniest thing in the world. He sat on my lap and we wrestled around and he had me almost in tears listening to him laugh.  He was so hyper, and I couldn’t get enough of it. I used to love nothing more than going out on St. Patrick’s, drinking green beer and hanging with friends.  I wouldn’t trade 1,000 of those nights for the night I had tonight.  It was amazing!

I don’t want to lose this stage.  He is so cute, and entertains us so much! As much as I want him to grow up to do all of those things, I am not in any hurry!  I want him to stay this age for a long time.  I love his sweet, miniature voice and the hilarious things he says.  I love his deep belly laugh.  I love how he finds the stupid things we do hilarious.  When he grows up, he will find the stupid things we do…well stupid, and embarrassing.  I love the boy that he is.  He is already trying to beat me up, and doesn’t back down from me.  He makes being a father better than I ever could’ve imagined it being.

4 comments

  1. Stacey Shubitz · March 18, 2016

    It’s it interesting to see how our lives and desires change once we have a child? Staying in is so much better than going out when you adore the company of your child. Enjoy this time with your precious little one (sounds like you are savoring it as much as you can).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. beckymusician · March 18, 2016

    This is so true! Pay attention and enjoy every minute with your kids. I do not understand parents who want to push their children ahead, skipping grades. Don’t they realize that once they go to college, it’s the end of an era? One piece of advice – record your little guy’s voice from time to time. We didn’t do enough of that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Veronica · March 19, 2016

    This is wonderful — love the idea of putting tonight “in a jar”!

    Thank you for a great reminder to stop and think of the children in my life (classroom and getting ready for bed, too). To stop and think.. thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Terje · March 19, 2016

    Beautifully written. So much love in your words. The kids grow up faster than we imagine. The best we can do is to present and enjoy each stage of their life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

