Bracketology

Weird, I have another reason that I love this time of year.  March Madness!  I am a huge sports fan as it is, but I don’t think it gets better than watching March Madness.  There are games on at all times of the day, and you are always guaranteed some great finishes.  You find yourself rooting for teams that you have no interest in at any other time of the year.  It is great to watch an underdog take down a higher seed.  It is a couple weeks of action packed days full of great basketball.

Of course watching the games is great by itself, but watching the games and rooting for your brackets to do well makes it even more exciting.  I have a love/hate relationship with filling out brackets.  I watch a decent amount of basketball and I listen to sports radio everyday so I feel like I have an idea of who may win.  This year however I have watched the least amount of college ball than I have in years, and this year there is no dominant teams.  It could be a complete crap shoot this year.

As I was filling out my brackets, I always try and do one that has most of the favorites, in other words I play it safe.  Then on the second one, I try and take more risks, picking teams that I think may have a chance at upsetting a higher seed.  With the way this roller coaster of a year has gone in college basketball, I have no idea what is going to happen.  I have a feeling that there will be some upsets, but the problem is that I have no idea which teams to pick.  I want to take some chances, but I have a hard time pulling the trigger because I also want to win the big pot.

Win or lose, it is still a great time to experience some great basketball.  It is a great time to meet up with friends and cheer on those teams that you have winning.  If only there was a way to not work and not have any other obligations during this time so I could sit all day and watch all of these games.  A group of our friends used to take off the first Friday of March Madness, go to a bar with our brackets in hand, and watch games all day.  That was the life!  With now having a little one, and another on the way, that has taken a backseat.  Hopefully in the near future we can start that tradition up again.  I can’t wait for tomorrow, and I hope this year I can actually come out of this with a little extra cash in my hand!

7 comments

  1. Dana Murphy · March 17, 2016

    I can’t relate to this one. I looked at the brackets online because I wanted to play — but no way, too complicated for me.

    I love how you take the two angles, though – one safe and one not. Good luck!

    Like

  2. beckymusician · March 17, 2016

    I can’t relate either. There’s some kind of pool with brackets most years at my school, but I don’t understand it at all. It sounds like a lot of fun from your description, though!

    Like

  3. Kelly Neylon · March 18, 2016

    I LOVE how you made this into a science. Not that I get it…much like algebra!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 18, 2016

      Next year we will sit down and teach you this. It is a ton of fun!

      Like

  4. Morgan · March 18, 2016

    Got my bracket, too. I love the contrast of this piece: this year compared to previous, after kids compared to before, underdog vs. top seed. Interesting take on a high interest topic!

    Like

  5. macksworldsite · March 18, 2016

    I played it safe this year because I didn’t have time to do any research. I love this time of year, too!

    Like

  6. Veronica · March 19, 2016

    “If only there was a way to not work and not have any other obligations during this time so I could sit all day and watch all of these games.”

    That’s how my husband feels about politics — can’t seem to peel him away from his cellphone and this was JUST the thing I told him about sports ppl. He’s not into sports, but now he’s doing something he loves (not me!! no!!) .. for now.. so, yes, I get it.

    I think it’s nice to think “I can’t wait for tomorrow” about something.

    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

