That Kid…

Ugh!  That kid again.  He is so talented, so brilliant, yet so damn stubborn.

That kid.  He has all the potential in the world, why won’t he just live up to it?

That kid.  He is gifted in so many ways, he breezes through everything that I give him.  Why won’t he challenge himself?  Why does he back away from anything that is a little out of his comfort zone?

That kid.  The other kids in his position love a challenge.  They tackle it head on, and come begging for more!

That kid.  Is he worthy of this chance he was getting?  Should we have given him a second chance?

That kid.  What is with his attitude?  I try day after day to get him to realize that the only thing that is holding him back is himself.  He holds the key to his future.  His future can be so bright if he just lets it.

That kid.  Stop saying you don’t care!  You do!  I know you do!

That kid.  When will he finally realize what is in front of him?  When will he realize that all of this is to make him stronger, more confident, and a better problem solver?  It will make him be able to conquer anything!

That kid.  I am not going to give up on him, no matter how much he frustrates me!  I can’t, I won’t!

That kid.  I believe in that kid!

8 comments

  1. beckymusician · March 15, 2016

    I think every teacher had had that kid – or a variation on him. Sometimes I know what’s stopping him and I feel for him, but I still struggle with getting him to see how exciting it can be to let yourself learn. Don’t give up!

    Like

  2. Dana Murphy · March 15, 2016

    Love the ending line – it was kind of unexpected.

    The repetition worked really well here – it made it seem like he just keeps popping in your mind, which I’m sure he does!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mcteaguem · March 16, 2016

      You couldn’t have said it better! He is always on my mind, trying to figure out what I can do to get to him!

      Like

  3. Kelly Neylon · March 15, 2016

    Your last line – AWESOME!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kathy White · March 16, 2016

    That kid is lucky to have you!

    Like

  5. Kathy White · March 16, 2016

    That kid is lucky to have you! Or is that kid —– you? Just kidding.

    Like

    • mcteaguem · March 16, 2016

      This definitely would not be me! I may be stubborn, but this kid is a horse of a different color. So intelligent with the worst attitude ever!

      Like

  6. Veronica · March 19, 2016

    I can hear myself saying that to my grown children. I’m sure they heard it from teachers like you growing up.. oh, the trouble I would have right now, had it not been for teachers like you! THANK YOU!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

